Forest Pond

Dirk VAN GELDER
Date
1929
Description

Initialed and dated on the stone, lower left. Signed and titled in pencil. This is a superb impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist always maintained close ties to The Hague: His father was the founder of the Gemeentemuseum and Director there from 1912-1941. Furthermore, the artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984. (Catalogue reference: Adam, Eliens, van den Noort-van Gelder L58).

Size
7 5/8 x 6 inches
Price
$850
Inquiry or Purchase